21% Property Tax Hike Leads To Recall Effort

Last week the Gwinnett County Commission voted 4 to 1 to increase property taxes by nearly 21%.  This week the Gwinnett County Elections Office accepted applications to recall Commission Chairman Charles Bannister, District 1 Commissioner Shirley Lasseter and District 3 Commissioner Mike Beaudreau.

Recall organizers must collect the signatures of 100 registered voters living in the commission district by December 23.  If certified, the recall organizers then must obtain the signatures of 30 percent of registered voters within 45 days – 28,000 signatures to recall Lasseter, 41,000 to recall Beadreau and 126,000 to recall Bannister.

If successful, the recalls would go to vote at a special election.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by James Day on December 11, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    I am on board with the recall effort and want to know how to contact Randy DeVault to help

  2. Posted by jim on December 12, 2009 at 7:13 am

    How do I find the people who are soliciting signatures for the recall?

  3. Posted by Panda & Mickey Jones on December 12, 2009 at 10:54 am

    We think this is way overdue in coming. We would like to know where to sign for the recall. These commissioners live in a fantasy world. At a time when Gwinnett County residents are struggling to pay bills and are losing their homes, they vote to increase property taxes by 21%. The time has come for residents of Gwinnett County to stand up for their right to NOT be taxed!

  4. Posted by William H. Nye Sr. on December 13, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    I want to sign a petition and am willing to help this effort. If there is something I can do to move the process forward, please let me know. My residence is in District 3.

  5. Posted by Stone Philips on December 13, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Beadreu voted NO and has always been against the increase. I will not work to recall him. He is our only advocate. The rest?? I’ll gladly help recall them. How do we help?

  6. Posted by Bill Powers on December 14, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    Agreed, such an effort is way overdue and I will support it when the time comes.

  7. Posted by Cheri Buechler on December 16, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    I want to sign, have friends who will and feel strongly that this is the right thing to do. Please help with directions.

  8. Posted by D.H. Bohne,DDS on January 19, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    I will be glad to help financially and time wise, will someone please give me a call, 770 939 6600.

  9. Posted by Neil Alvin on February 4, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    I would like to get more information how i can petition to recall Charles bannister , Shirley Lassiter

  10. Posted by Mike Lupo on April 16, 2010 at 9:43 am

    I would like to get more information on how I can sign the petition to recall Charles bannister. This guy has done nothing and cares nothing about Gwinnett County. If it is not to late please tell me where to go sign.

  11. Posted by William H. Nye Sr. on April 16, 2010 at 10:48 am

    December 13th I said I wanted to sign a petition and was willing to help but received no response from anyone. Regarding Mike Beadreau, Distric 3 commissioner, he is a politician. We all knew the tax proposal had sufficient commissioner support to pass so his “no” vote means nothing. Mike Beadreau’s arrogant unconscionable action to take control of waste removal away from the citizens and put it in the exclusive hands of the county, (which by the way extracts revenue but not called a tax), qualifies him for recall also. I not only voted for Mike Beadreau in the last election, regrettably I campaigned for him. I won’t make that mistake again; in fact I will campaign against him.

  12. I do believe all of the ideas you’ve offered to your post. They are really convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are too short for beginners. May just you please lengthen them a little from next time? Thank you for the post.

Leave a Reply

