Six Obtain Atlanta Regional Commission’s Green Communities Designation

The Atlanta Regional Commission designated six metro-Atlanta municipalities “Green Communities” for their efforts to reduce their “environmental footprint,” such as reducing energy and water consumption, cutting the amount of trash and air pollution produced or investing in solar panels and other means of producing “renewable” energy.

DeKalb and Douglas counties and the cities of Atlanta, Roswell, Fairburn and Suwanee – join Cobb County and the cities of Decatur and Alpharetta as “Green Communities”.

Roswell topped the list with a host of innovations, including solar-powered lighting in a dog park, a no-idle policy for city vehicles and a mandate that all new municipal buildings over 5,000 square feet be certified by the U.S. Green Building Council for Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design, a conservation rating system commonly known as “LEED.”


One response to this post.

  1. Earning an extra commission check help put my kids through private school! No doubt it

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: