DeKalb County Releases Initial Marine Corps Institute Details

In the face of increasingly vocal citizen opposition, DeKalb County School Superintendent Crawford Lewis made public the County’s plansfor DeKalb Marine Corps Institute.  Classes will begin this fall at the Heritage Center off Briarcliff Road in North DeKalb, but will move to another location for its second year of operation.  The County has not selected a permanent site for the Institute.

Thadeous Dixon will be the Principal with an undisclosed 32-year veteran of the Marines as the Commandent.

The Institute will operate on a year-long schedule with “looping” where teachers are paired with students for multiple years.

From Military Ring Info 

This will be a one of a kind public military style high school. The school will be run by the Marine Corps, and its purpose will be to instill discipline into high school students who attend. This school will be one in a network of similar schools which will open across the country.

The World of Ensayn Reality questions whether military contributions towards school maintenance and teacher pay will lead to

subliminal message underpinned in the lessons covertly coercing the tender minds of the students attending The Marine Corps Institute to join the Marine Corps or the military in general.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I for one am a product of a military academy and I am glad that I experienced the discipline that it gave to me. After I graduated I had qualities that I did not have when I entered. I knew how to manage time more effectively, I had more discipline concerning personal responsibilities, I would do what it took to get a job done, and I was more organized. I support the idea and I think that many of our young people will be the better after attendance.

  2. I for one am a product of a military academy and I am glad that I experienced the discipline that it gave to me. After I graduated I had qualities that I did not have when I entered. I knew how to manage time more effectively, I had more discipline concerning personal responsibilities, I would do what it took to get a job done, and I was more organized. I support the idea and I think that many of our young people will be the better after attendance. http://www.militaryringinfo.com

  3. Posted by Isaiah on May 4, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    I am glad they are doing this. I am currently a freshman attending school in Dekalb and next year I plan on attending this school. After high school, I want to enlist in the United States Marine Corps (USMC). So this is an awesome opportunity for me and others with similar interest.

  4. Posted by Doris Webber on May 28, 2009 at 10:37 am

    I like the idea of having a military school. I am interested in it for boys
    that need to learn discipline. We are a military family and proud of it.

Leave a Reply

